Ask your Maryland state legislators to continue their support for the National Popular Vote bill 

Send a letter-to-the-editor to Maryland newspapers

National Popular Vote’s Facebook page

National Popular Vote’s Twitter page

In January 19, 2021, a hearing was held on a bill introduced by Maryland Delegate Dana Stein to ensure that Maryland’s 10 presidential electors honor the voters' choice and cast their votes in the Electoral College for the presidential and vice-presidential nominees of their respective political party (status of HB202). 

On February 28, 2019, the National Popular Vote organization, Common Cause, and FairVote testified against Maryland Senate bill SB852 at a hearing before the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  All three groups made the point that SB582 will not accomplish any of the three main goals of the National Popular Vote interstate compact (which is already law in Maryland); that SB582 contains 13 serious flaws; and that SB582 would hinder adoption of the National Popular Vote interstate compact in other states. The committee gave SB852 an unfavorable report

On April 10, 2007, Governor Martin O'Malley today signed the National Popular Vote bill (HB 148 and SB 634). Maryland thus became the first state to enact the National Popular Vote bill, which guarantees the Presidency to the candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and DC.  State senator and Constitutional Law Professor Jamie Raskin (now U.S. Representative) was the main sponsor of the bill in the Maryland Senate.  The enactment of the legislation in Maryland came only 411 days after National Popular Vote held its initial press conference on February 23, 2006.

Maryland Governor O'Malley signs National Popular Vote bill. Sitting (from left): Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown, Senate President Mike Miller, Gov. Martin O'Malley, and Speaker Mike Busch. Standing (from left): Delegates Barbara Frush; Senators Verna Jones, Catherine Pugh, Roy Dyson, Chris Falkenhagen, and Jamie Raskin (main sponsor of SB 634 and now a Member of Congress); Ryan O'Donnell (Fair Vote Action Maryland), former U.S. Senator Birch Bayh of Indiana; Hannah Powers; Delegates Jon Cardin and Sheila Hixson (main sponsor of HB 148); Raskin aides Carol McDermott and Alice Wilkerson; Delegates Jim Gilchrist, Susan Lee, Veronica Turner, and Keith Haynes.