Status of National Popular Vote Bill in Each State

Alaska  Alabama  Arkansas  Arizona  California  Colorado  Connecticut  DC  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Iowa  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Massachusetts  Maryland  Maine  Michigan  Minnesota  Missouri  Mississippi  Montana  North Carolina  North Dakota  Nebraska  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  Nevada  New York  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Virginia  Vermont  Washington  Wisconsin  West Virginia  Wyoming

As of April 15, 2024, the National Popular Vote bill has been enacted into law in 18 jurisdictions possessing 209 electoral votes, including

  • 6 small jurisdictions (District of Columbia, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont),
  • 9 medium-sized states (Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington), and
  • 3 big states (California, Illinois, New York).  

The National Popular Vote bill will take effect when enacted into law by states possessing 270 electoral votes (a majority of the 538 electoral votes). The bill will take effect when enacted by states possessing an additional 61 electoral votes. 

The National Popular Vote bill has also passed at least one legislative chamber in 7 states possessing 74 electoral votes (Arkansas, Arizona, Michigan, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, Virginia).  The bill has passed both houses of the Nevada legislature at various times. The National Popular Vote bill has been introduced all 50 states at various times.  Overall, the National Popular Vote bill has now passed a total of 43 state legislative chambers in 24 states.

On the map below, each square represents one electoral vote (out of 538). 


Map design (various versions) courtesty of Craig Barratt, Victor-Bobier, Jeff Pfoser, and Chris Pearson  


The states are listed below alphabetically.  Click here for chronological history. 



Arkansas - Passed House in 2007 and 2009

Arizona - Passed House in 2016

California - Enacted into law

Colorado - Enacted into law in 2019 by legislature and Governor, and approved by Colorado voters on November 3, 2020

Connecticut - Enacted into law

District of Columbia - Enacted into law

Delaware - Enacted into law


Georgia - Unanimously approved by House committee in 2016

Hawaii - Enacted into law



Illinois - Enacted into law





Massachusetts - Enacted into law

Maryland - Enacted into law

Maine - Enacted into law

Michigan - Passed House in 2008

Minnesota - Enacted into law

Missouri - Unanimously approved by House committee in 2016



North Carolina - Passed Senate in 2007

North Dakota


New Hampshire

New Jersey - Enacted into law

New Mexico - Enacted into law

Nevada - Passed Assembly in 2009; passed the Assembly and Senate in 2019, but vetoed; Passed Assembly and Senate in 2023 as a constitutional amendment

New York - Enacted into law


Oklahoma - Passed Senate in 2015

Oregon - Enacted into law


Rhode Island - Enacted into law

South Carolina

South Dakota




Virginia - Passed House in February 2020

Vermont - Enacted into law

Washington - Enacted into law


West Virginia