13 States Possessing 181 Electoral Votes Have Enacted National Popular Vote Into Law

The National Popular Vote law has been enacted into law by 13 jurisdictions possessing 181 electoral votes (CA, CO, CT, DC, HI, IL, MA, MD, NJ, NY, RI, VT, WA).  Map showing status in the states

The bill will take effect when enacted by states possessing an additional 98 electoral votes.  

Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee signs National Popular Vote bill in July 2013, as Dr. John R. Koza, Chair of National Popular Vote (left) and Barry Fadem, President of National Popular Vote (right) look on.